Feb 3rd


I’ve had a few too many rest days in the past week, none consecutive, but still, I wanted to blast things into high gear.

I did an easy 15 minute warmup on the elliptical first, and then some stretching.

Then to get things kicking, I opted for a Tabata Interval. I did this with Sprint Intervals on an elliptical machine… 20 seconds as fast as I could crank, and then 10 secs rest. Repeat this cycle 8 times. Total time for the death-defying event is 4 minutes.

By the end of the 6th interval, my legs felt like lead. My 7th interval was a bit of a cop-out… I probably only gave 60-70% cause I was so winded. On the 8th, I said the hell with it and threw caution to the wind, giving 100% of what was left. No question… this is a highly anaerobic event!

By end of the 2nd interval, my heart rate was hitting 160-170, and barely dropping during the rest periods.

I think this Sprint Interval is much better suited outside on a bike. That way, you could coast on your 10 second rest interval. With the elliptical, you spend part of the interval decelerating, and putting out effort to do so.

To keep accurate track of time, I’d downloaded a MP3 that someone had created that calls out the start and finish of the 20 & 10 second milestones.

4 Comments

  1. crankyolebroad said,

    February 4, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Tabata intervals sound ideal for when I move into the third phase of my workout routine!

    I’m still in phase one, which is to establish 45 minutes of light aerobic activity six days a week.

    Phase two is to switch two days of aerobics for two days of weights.

    Phase three is to increase one day of aerobics for up to 2 1/2 hours and on yet another aerobic day add high intensity intervals……like Tabata.

    Plugging away at phase one……

  2. wb416 said,

    February 4, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    I’ve seen you post your heart-rates. They seem to be really low. You may want to consider at least one or two mild sprints (60-70%) in a given session and then continue your aerobic workout.

    The other part of me says… you have a plan… STICK TO IT! lol

  3. crankyolebroad said,

    February 4, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I must be older than you think! Yeah, they are intentionally low, but that’s still 60-65% max heart rate for me. I do hit around 80% a couple of times in a workout as well (by accident).

    The slow and easy workouts are part of the “master plan”. The idea is that we are designed to be “hunter gatherers”, and 60-65% max heart rate simulates finding food and triggers the body to repair itself.

    AND, I have noticed a definite decrease in “inflammatory” type chronic pain since I started doing this.

  4. wb416 said,

    February 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Aleve can be your best friend! I know it can be for me!

    You hit on something important…. if you overdo it and cause overuse injuries, then it doesn’t do you much good for consistency. Exercising “within yourself” is an important thing for us all to do!


Leave a Reply

