CrossFit Foundation Class (1 of 3)


Today I went down and did my first CrossFit Foundation’s class (session 1 of 3) at CrossFit Nasti.

This 60 minute session consisted of a 500m warmup on the rower, then demonstration and practice of the air squat, dead lift, and shoulder press with varying degrees of PVC pipe, empty bars, and/or light weights.  There was some nice video review of my technique when I had trouble picturing what I was doing wrong.  There was also some good tips and demonstration/practice on stretching my tight hamstrings and shoulders.  What it boils down to is that I was performing these techniques incorrectly, but hopefully have caught it early enough that it can be relearned easily.  More importantly, I didn’t try to teach Penny the incorrect methods.

The Coup de grace was a session to see how many pushups I could do in 10 minutes.  When a pushup failed/faltered, then I had to do 250m on the rower, then attempt more pushups… needless to say, after a couple of rounds, I was spending more time on the rower than doing pushups.  The rower insures that there is high intensity the entire 10 minutes (Intensity is a huge component of CrossFit).  Frankly, by then end of 10 minutes I had no clue, nor did I give a shit how many pushups I’d done.  lol  There was a point when I uttered that my heart rate was at 177 bpm.  The response was an encouraging “Oh yeh… we’re working out now!”  At the end of the 10 minutes as I lay slumped over the rower, the 2nd trainer/co-owner came up and introduced himself.  He says “It’s nice to meet you”.  I uttered, “I wish I could say the same right now.” 🙂

Tomorrow I go in to do the second session… not their ideal way to do it, but I’m occupied the remainder of the week out of town. He gave me a heads-up on what we’ll cover and described to me the Fran workout.  I haven’t even met her yet, but already have reason to dread tomorrow.

Why do I have a feeling that I’m going to get my money’s worth out of this training?

Leave a Reply

