Feb 10th


Dear Mom,

I met a new girl at the gym today.  Her name is Fran.  Don’t worry… you won’t like her… in fact… I don’t much care for her either.  Ya see, Fran is a CrossFit workout…  one of many named workouts that consists of different exercises.

Fran: 21, 15, 9
Squat Thrusts 95# (Hips below knees on the squat and then shoulder press to full extension)
Pull-ups (chin above bar)

These are done in a prescribed fashion, 21 Squat Thrusts, 21 Pull-ups, 15 Squat Thrusts, 15 Pull-ups, 9 Squat Thrusts, 9 Pull-ups.  The total time to perform these 90 repetitions are your “Fran time”.  This is one of the benchmark workouts that allows other people doing CrossFit to compare levels of fitness with each other.

As this was my first,  they scaled it to my current fitness level: Thrusters (Bar only) and Jumping pull-ups.  My Fran time was 10:50.

This was session 2 (of 3) for the Foundations class.  We started with a warmup on the rower, then a review of the 3 movements from yesterday and added 3 additional.  The new movements were Front Squat, Sumo-Deadlift-High-Pull, and the ?Push Press (amazing the exercise names I can forget).  There was good discussion and interaction regarding technique and form critique.

I had the benefit of both trainers scrutinizing me today, and it was great to hear their point of view.  This reminded me a lot of a DIR/NTEC/UTD style Fundamentals Course (for those scuba divers that have attended one of these intense sessions).

At one point during Fran my HRT hit 180 bpm, but after it ended and I caught my breath, I felt pretty good.  Not bad considering my theoretical max is 177… lol!

In a masochistic sort of way… I think I’m going to really like this!!!!

Leave a Reply

