Handstand Pushups, L-Pullups, Lunges: First Unassisted pullups


Did my first unassisted pullups today… 3 in a row. Feels great since I’m still around 230lbs and 20-30lbs heavier than I’d like to be.

Woohoo!

Been with the CrossFit affiliate for 30 days and it’s working!

Warmup:
2 Rounds of:
250m Row
10 Situps on the Glute-Ham developer (GHD)
10 Back extensions on the GHD
10 Ring Pushups
10 Overhead Squats
10 Pullups with Green Band (2nd time did 3 unassisted pullups)

20 Minute AMRAP (As Many Rounds as Possible in 20 minutes)

  • 5 HSPU (Handstand pushups)
  • 10 L-Pullups (feet held in an L- position while doing pullups)
  • 15 Walking Lunges

I had to scale the workout to make it doable for me:

  • HSPU (scaled as feet on bench in a 90 degree pike, hands on ground)
  • LPUs (scaled with blue “lightest” band for pullups and a 20 second L-hold after each pullup set)
  • Lunges (as Rx’d)

Result: 5 rounds + 2 HSPU in 20 minutes
(Total of 27 HSPU, 50 pullups …plus 100 seconds of L-holds… and 300 lunges)

Holding my feet out in an L position while hanging on the bar after each set of pullups was absolute murder! If it hadn’t of been for the trainer’s exhortations, I’d have caved after a couple of rounds… no doubt… he earned his money today, big time… especially in the last 5 minutes of the workout… he got a whole ‘nuther round out of me when I had nothing left in the tank mentally )

I created my first sweat angel on the floor …. and can’t remember the 20 mile drive home…

Leave a Reply

