Full Day of Working Out and Cycling, including the WOD Nancy


Morning:

Easy 1K Row
Rotator cuff and shrug exercises suggested by doc
Dead Hang chinups (using blue band).

Afternoon:

17.5 mile Bike Ride from Kingsview Industrial Park to Loveland and back.
Time:  1hr 20min
A full accounting of our ride is in our Great Adventure Blog

Iced my right shoulder after cycling to reduce inflammation.

Evening:

Warmup:  abmat situps &  supermans for back extentions, overhead squats with PVC, 250m Row, dead hang chinups on rings with blue band, kipping pullups on ring with blue band, handstand pushups with black & blue bands

WOD called Nancy (scaled)
(3 Rounds of 15 Squats & 500m row)
Bob 12:50 (95# Back Squats, 500m row)
Penny 10:30 (20# Overhead Squats, 500m row)

I couldn’t do a single overhead squat with anything but a pvc pipe.  Even with the 20# barbell, there was too much strain on my lower back as I started the squat due to my lack of flexibility yet (I pitch the overhead bar too far forward since I can’t keep my back upright enough in the squat and this strains my back trying to compensate).  Therefore, I opted for a back squat and did the Rx’d weight of 95# to make sure my hip flexors got the full impact of the workout.  I may need to start working with either a pvc pipe filled with sand or try using my old curling bar or light dumbells until I can do an overhead squat with some amount of weight and build from there.

Iced my right shoulder after the workout to reduce inflammation.

Leave a Reply

