5000m (5K) Row


This was my first attempt at a 5000m row on the rower.  I’d originally slated today as a rest day after the max deadlifts last night, but figured if I took it easy enough, it wouldn’t be too bad.

Thinking that it ought to be easy enough to hold a 2:30 ave / 500m, doing this in 25 minutes seemed achievable.  Penny suggested that I set my expectations a bit lower, like a 3:00 minute average per 500m.  Heck… her saying that was enough to spur me on… I think she knows my competitive hot buttons.

The first 1000m went by kinda slowly.  I used it as a warmup, and I had the damper setting on 4…. a bit too “freewheeling” for my liking.  So after 1k, I bumped the damper up to just above 6 and that felt a lot better.  At the pace I was going, it projected that I would finish the 5k in something over 29 minutes.

To make a short story long, the rowing got easier as I got warmed up and my times got better for each 1000m split.  By the time I got done, I was averaging 2:31/500m and my last 500m was in 1:46.

Total Time: 25:15

Felt pretty dang good for my first 5000m row!!

1 Comment

  1. May 26, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    […] of some of the workouts, so I started with a 5k meter Row.  My last (and only) attempt at this was 4/8/09 in […]


Leave a Reply

