Back Squat 1RM


I haven’t done a 1RM (one rep max) back squat in  about 6 weeks, so when the 3RM Front Squat came up on the CrossFit mainsite, I opted for the 1RM back squat instead.

WOD:

Back Squat 1RM
130 x 3
150 x 3
165 x 3
170 x 1
180
210
220
230
240 PR
260 PR
270 PR

My previous max was 235#, so PR’d by 35#.  The final lift was strong and still fairly quick… in fact, my down and up was getting quicker as I went along… using the stretch reflex at the bottom of the squat.  However, unlike the last time I PR’d the deadlift, this time I decided to listen to my body and just collect my chips and call it a night.  No sense getting greedy… lol

I’m still tinkering around with the Zone Diet.  I had been just eating the same 3 block meals that Penny was eating to make food prep easier,  but lately I haven’t felt satisfied enough with that.  Going on the Zone site, I decided to use the measurements (wrist, abdomen) to see if I could get a better idea of what they thought I should be using.  Previously, I’d done 5 block meals based on guesstimates from the CrossFit Journal nutritional articles, so I was a bit surprised that the Zone Site has me labeled for 22 blocks a day versus the 19 that CF indicated, or the 13/14 I was doing with Penny!?!  I think I’m going to start feeding my muscles more now!! :))

Today, I ordered “Starting Strength” book and DVD by Mark Rippetoe, and also some Clean & Jerk and Snatch DVD’s from World Class Lifting so that I could start hammering more on the Olympic and Powerlifts.  I love how they are great for metabolic conditioning and explosive strength.  With diving and cycling taking more of our time with the warmer weather, we’ve come to grips that we won’t be doing the workouts very closely to the CrossFit mainsite, so we need to find a way to get the most out of the workouts, yet still glean as much benefit from CF style workouts as possible.

Leave a Reply

