Cycling Hill Climb and Sprints


Finally conquered my personal “Hill of Death”.  It’s a hill that rises 125ft in 1/4 mile… about a 9.5% grade.  For this flat-lander, that’s a lot of hill, and I’ve been battling it mentally for 14 months.  I’ve only tried it a handful of times, but it has weighed on my mind and influences my route whenever I think about going that direction.

By using my lowest gear on my heavy touring bike, I was able to use cardio effort rather than “toast” my legs trying to muscle up the hill.

We also did a 15 mile ride out and back to Morrow, doing some Sprints and in general, pushing these heavier bikes harder than we would if they were loaded with touring gear.

Great workout and plenty tired, but enjoying the feeling of success!!

Leave a Reply

