Drop Snatch and Overhead Squat Practice


Warmup

250m Row
10 GHD Situps
10 GHD Back Extensions
10 Incline Pushups
10 Chinups (Black Band)
10 Air Squats
250m Row

Workout

Snatch Drop
35# x 3 x 2

Snatch Drop + 3 Overhead Squats
35# x 2 (e.g. 2 Snatch Drops and 6 OHS)
45# x 2
55# x 2

Snatch Drop + 1 Overhead Squat
65# x 2
(on the third attempt I wasn’t focusing nor tight, so the weight started falling forward.  Instead of dropping it, I caught it and “muscled” it down… resulted in mild shoulder strain… brain fart… I’m an idiot… stopped the barbell workout at that point)

500m Row 1:51

3 Comments

  1. Paul Murray said,

    February 3, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    I was enjoying reading the stats till I read that you went to catch a falling weight. Dude, what were you thinking? Or perhaps that’s the reason, you were not. 😦

  2. wb416 said,

    February 4, 2010 at 7:32 am

    We practice “dumping” the weight forward or backward when it’s overhead, and I have rubber weights so that there’s no damage to the floor. I just reacted incorrectly. Had it been heavier weight, it probably would have been better. Since it was light weight to work on positioning, I “muscled” it. Not good! I rested my shoulders yesterday so all seems well.

  3. Paul Murray said,

    February 4, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    As long as there was no serious damage then.


Leave a Reply

