Met-Con Day: Pullups, Mountain Climbers, Deadlifts


I haven’t been doing enough Met-cons to build my “mixed exercise” stamina, so I threw together a triplet that looked like it would work different body areas, both via strength and/or cardio.

Warmup:

5 Minute Row: 830 meters
10 Ring Rows
10 Chinups, Black Band
5 Deadlifts 65#
5 Deadlifts 135#
5 Deadlifts 185#

Workout:

(12, 6, 3 rep sequence for this workout triplet)
12 Chinups (unassisted)
12 Mountain Climbers (4 count)
12 Deadlifts 185# (approx 50% of my 1RM)
6 Pullups (unassisted)
6 Mountain Climbers (4 count)
6 Deadlifts 185#
3 Chinups (blue band)
3 Mountain Climbers (4 count)
3 Deadlifts 185#

Time: 9:17

I felt very inadequate for the task.  Thinking the Mountain Climbers would be a good “fill” to get the heart rate up, it was actually the Pullups and Deadlifts that really taxed my ability to get enough oxygen.  My strength faded quickly on the chinups/pullup combinations, but other than that, ability to breath was the primary limiting factor to a faster finish.  It was tough to see it through to completion… pathetic really.

My chronic right shoulder issue started rearing itself on the kipping chinup/pullups, so I went to a blue band on the last 3 reps to reduce the strain at the bottom of the rep.

Leave a Reply

