Kettlebell Windmills


As I continue to work on and strengthen my shoulders from the damage and shoulder instability that years of mindless pushups, bench press, and pec dec workouts caused, I think I’m falling in love with the Kettlebell Windmill.

After a brief conversation with a coach friend in Seattle that works with Kettlebells and Olympic weightlifting, I decided to cautiously up the weight on the KB Windmills. (He’s also the guy I got the idea of doing KB Windmills from).

When I use the exercise as a warmup to other workouts, I’ve kept the weight at 10#.  Today I wanted to focus on strengthening the shoulder.

Workout:

KB Windmills

25#, 3 per side
35#, 3 per side
50#, 3 per side

It was the first time I’d attempted 50# on the windmills… 35# seemed incredibly hard a few weeks ago.  Surprisingly, I felt the work the most on my core and lats, particularly as I would raise back to a standing position.  Afterwards, I do have a mild “burn” in the rotator muscle area, similar to one you might feel after working any other muscle to exhaustion.  It took me quite a bit of total body effort to stabilize that weight in the air, but it was certainly a nice break from the keyboard.

Made sure I kept the reps low per side to avoid getting carried away.  I can always add more sets as the shoulders get stronger.

The results I’m looking for are improved stability in the Overhead Squat, as well as improved function/mobility in the pushups, Snatch, and kipping pullups (normally I feel shoulder discomfort during the sudden deceleration at the bottom of high rep Kipping pullups)

1 Comment

  1. babs said,

    February 23, 2010 at 10:00 am

    i love windmills! keep up the amazing work. 🙂


Leave a Reply

