1-Handed KB Swings Thu 23th


With the lingering effects of the severe back pain yesterday, I approached  attempted swings with a bit of trepidation.  However, I did quite a bit of floor exercises last night to loosen things up and it seemed to help (the “situp of the getup”).  I didn’t want to get tired and try to muscle things around, so I chose to do 1-handed swings with a 20#KB, going just for higher reps and more constant movement.  I felt like a got a great workout by the time I was done, and form stayed tight with no back pain even at the end.

Lunch Time Workout:

15 minutes total… as many sets/reps as possible…. resting as long as necessary between sets;
20# KB 1-Handed Swing
x 20 reps/side x 1 set;
x 20 reps/side x 1 set;
x 20 reps/side x 1 set;
x 20 reps/side x 3 set;
x 20 reps/side x 2 set;
x 20 reps/side x 1 set;

Total:   360 reps in 15 minutes.  A respectable cardio workout with no back pain.

I realize I was doing lighter weight, but still there is something about 1-handed swings that I really like.  The rhythm and movement pattern are more comfortable to me.

Leave a Reply

