Practicing some Movements with the new 62lb KB


Got home to a new hole in the porch where the UPS man dropped the new 62# Kettlebell. (not really, but that’s what Penny had emailed me) 😀  I purchased an Ader because of a sale I saw on a Facebook page.  I have a 35# Ader and like the handle/feel.  The 62 is similar and the handle design/thickness works better than the one on my generic 50 pounder.

______________________________

Practiced a few movements to get a feeling for the heft.  It’s hard to believe that it’s only 12 pounds heavier than my next heaviest bell, but it makes a difference.

________________________________

I gave it a test run, by doing some two-handed swings.  That bell will definitely crush my strength-endurance quickly.  I’ve managed a couple of nice slow Snatch workouts with the 50#, but I don’t see that happening at all with the 62 pounder.  Cleans on the other hand are a different story.  This KB should work nicely for Clean and Push Press combinations with a nice negative on the Push Press.

Laying on the floor, I tried a few 62# arm bars and 1/4 TGU’s.  The arm bars felt good.  Lots of stabilizer muscles getting worked with this one.  The TGU’s were a different story.  Still don’t have the form on the left side to consistently move it to the post position.  Right side was doable.

_________________________________

My final test was the Windmill.  Both left and right felt good, but had to keep the focus strong.  One per side was enough  for now.  Hard to believe that just over 18 months ago that my shoulders were so in need of work, that I could barely manage a windmill with a 10 pounder.

_________________________________

The 50 pounder feels lite by comparison.  Psychologically, that might prove to be an advantage.  Might take one of these to work so I can cycle in some strength work at lunch time.

2 Comments

  1. Paul Murray said,

    July 27, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    It is still all mystifying. Do the kettlebells just work the arm muscles or are there any other benefits?

  2. wb416 said,

    July 28, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Actually, arm muscles as you traditionally think of them are secondary the way I use them. Arms are more like cables in movements like swings, snatches, and cleans. I’ve used KB’s more to improve shoulder strength/mobility and upper back “T-spine” mobility with movements like windmills, arm bars, Turkish Getups.

    Aside from doing shoulder presses to build stronger shoulders/lats, I’m primarily working on endurance and strength-endurance with exercises like the swings and snatches. There is also improvement in explosive hip strength (hip flexors and glutes). There are also posture benefits by keeping a good back alignment and core activation during the movements. The whole body must be engaged during most of the movements which means it’s beneficial to me moreso than lifting on machines that isolate the body artificially or galloping along on a treadmill or an elliptical machine.

    Hopefully that gives you some insight as to how I use them. There are a myriad of other ways to use KB training as well.


Leave a Reply

