Tuesday Jan 31 Tabata Sprints on Stationary Bike


It felt like time…. past time actually…. to do a Tabata Interval…. 20 Seconds of intense exercise followed by 10 seconds of rest…. rinse and repeat 8 times… that’s it… 4 minutes total of high intensity hell (3:40 when you subtract the eight rest intervals)…. piece of cake, right??  Well… I’ll let you know tomorrow when I have the energy to move… LOL

I read and copied an article on Tabata Intervals today that I posted on a couple of bulletin boards at work.  I felt compelled to take my own advice if I was going to encourage others to do the same.

Warmup:  10 minutes on the Elliptical machine

Workout: Tabata Intervals on the Stationary Bike; 4 minutes, 2 kilometers; Resistance level 8 of 20; Legs felt like leaden stumps on the 6th-8th intervals.

Cooldown: 3:30 slow pedal on Stationary Bike; Resistance level 1 of 20.

Want to know more about Tabata protocol?  Here’s some articles I’ve collected.

4 Comments

  1. Paul Murray said,

    February 13, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    How did this go, Bob? I am wondering how they compare with my 4x seven minute intervals followed by a six minute recovery spin.

  2. wb416 said,

    February 15, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    I think they are apples vs oranges, but both beneficial in their own way. I know if I did your interval that my sustained output would be considerably less than 100%. On the Tabata, when going max effort, my wattage falls way off in the 6-8th interval even though I’m going at 100%. So… are you mountain biking up a very brief steep climb or going hard on a sustained incline…. or both… My guess would be both have their place. Cheers mate!

  3. Paul Murray said,

    February 15, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    I begin to see the difference. I am preparing for long inclines rather than short and very sharp incline. When I switched to the second DVD in the climbing sets (Climbing Power), they were 2 minute intervals followed by 2 minute recoveries which were not enough to fully recover. They actually are what made the sustained power climbing possible in France. I start back on them next week. 🙂

  4. wb416 said,

    February 15, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Doesn’t sound like fun to me! LOL I think I read that you are prepping now for a multistate mountain bike ride?


Leave a Reply

