Beginning the Starting Strength programming


Looking at the Starting Strength program to get my strength gains quickly back up to my previous levels (I’ve owned the book for a few years, but was too involved with Crossfit, Oly lifting, and kettlebells to properly use the program).  Since I did bench press last night, I started with the 2nd Day of the Two Day repeating programming.  Looking at the recommended milk intake for novice muscle gains. Since I haven’t drank milk in any quantity in the past few years, I’ll have to see if my body still tolerates it.

Program will be:
Day 1: Squat, Shoulder Press, Power Clean
Day 2: Squat, Bench Press, Deadlift
Repeat every two days.

  • Rowing (machine):
    • 0:00:00 || 856 m || 2:55 split || 0 bpm || 0 % (+59 pts)
    • Warmup
  • Barbell Squat:
    • 55 lb x 5 reps (+33 pts)
    • 55 lb x 5 reps (+33 pts)
    • 105 lb x 5 reps (+47 pts)
    • 155 lb x 3 reps (+53 pts)
    • 195 lb x 3 reps (+69 pts)
    • 195 lb x 3 reps (+69 pts)
    • 35 lb x 25 reps (+40 pts)
  • Standing Barbell Shoulder Press:
    • 35 lb x 5 reps (+46 pts)
    • 35 lb x 5 reps (+46 pts)
    • 65 lb x 5 reps (+56 pts)
    • 85 lb x 3 reps (+52 pts)
    • 100 lb x 5 reps (+71 pts)
  • Power Clean:
    • 55 lb x 5 reps (+28 pts)
    • 85 lb x 5 reps (+35 pts)
    • 85 lb x 5 reps (+35 pts)
    • 85 lb x 5 reps (+35 pts)
2 Comments

  1. Teri said,

    June 11, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    Looks like a good start. The SS forum is a better one than Fitocracy for lifting info. Some of the more prolific Fitocracy posters are idiots. I wouldn’t bother with that much milk by the way.

  2. wb416 said,

    June 11, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    Thanks! I’ll play the milk by ear. I’ve noticed some of the signal to noise ratio on Fito. Reminds me of scuba forums where many talk about diving, but few do…. or think they’re experts when they’re not. But anyway… it’s all good if it get’s people fitter!


Leave a Reply

