Wed April 20, 2016


This is my second workout and seems like a painfully slow way to start, but I also want to bring my tendons and joints along at a pace that keeps me healthy.

The program I’m using is a scaled version of Starting Strength and Stronglifts (SS/SL).  I’m choosing reps of 3 on the main sets versus 5 until I start to acclimate.  Also, I’ve chosen BB Rows vs Power Cleans to get a more complete back workout since I sit a lot in “interior rotation”.  There will be those that will accuse me that “We’re not doing the program” (WNDTP).  My goals are slower and I’m off the couch, so buzz off!

Squats
45×5
75×3
110×3
120×3
120×3
120×3

Press (OHP)
45×5
50×5
60×3
70×2
75×3
75×3
75×3

As a stretch warmup for the deadlift work set, I want to use the RDL to stretch/strengthen my glutes and tight hamstrings.

Romanian Deadlift (RDL)
65×5
75×5
95×5
115×5

Deadlifts (conventional)
135×3

Simple. Short (70 minutes).

 

Leave a Reply

